Howzat! Abu Dhabi Colleges Cricket Team Toasts Success in the Field

3 years

The HCT-Abu Dhabi Colleges Cricket Team celebrated a successful season on the pitch this year, including taking out third place in the very competitive Abu Dhabi Inter-University Sports Cricket League ( 2014-15.

The ADISL involved teams from New York University, Abu Dhabi University, Masdar Institute, Petroleum Institute, Al Khawarazmi International College and the HCT-Abu Dhabi Colleges.

The Abu Dhabi team won four out of the five league matches before losing in the semi-finals to the Petroleum Institute. The team then went on to win 3rd place in the tournament.


The weekly training and the team building spirit that captain Walter Carvalho instilled in the players, and the support of ADMC management, all resulted in attaining this level of success.

Dr. Jacobus Daniel Nel was awarded the “Man of the Tournament “trophy and Walter Carvalho was awarded the trophy for “Most Valuable Captain” of the Tournament.

The Abu Dhabi Colleges cricket team was made up of Walter Carvalho (Captain) Jacobus Daniel Nel, Prabu Arumugam, Ali Narawala, Asad Shaikh, Huned Bohari, Kamal Jaiswal, Adil Bashir Hussain, Vivek Shetty, Ramesh Kudumelli, Samba Siva Rao, Ilyas Bohari, Amardeep Kuniyil and  Pramith Monteiro.

Dr. Sultan Hussain Karmostaji, Director of the HCT-Abu Dhabi Colleges, congratulated the team and said: “I am proud of Abu Dhabi Colleges Athletic teams and particularly the Cricket Team.”

Dr. Karmostaji added that HCT encourages all kinds of sports, and provides the necessary facilities for students to practice in the sports of their choice.

7aside  pic

In other cricketing news the Abu Dhabi Colleges teams were crowned champions of the HCT 7-a-side Cricket Championships, which involved many of the HCT colleges.

The tournament was held at the Dubai Men’s College cricket ground where the Abu Dhabi team took out the championship with three wins from four matches.

The winning team was made up of Jacobus Daniel Nel (Captain), Prabha Arumugam, Ali Narawalla, Asad Shaikh, Huned Bohari, Adil Basheer , Nafin Chalil and Kamal Jaiswal.