Education Without Borders A Resounding Success – Again!

9 years

Education Without Borders 2009 may have come to a close, but for the 1,000-plus students from around the globe who participated, this is just the start of their missions to make the world a better place.

More than 1,000 students from more than 120 countries participated in the biennial international student conference, hosted and organized by the Higher Colleges of Technology (HCT). The event has become a highlight on the educational calendar.

EWB 2009 special guests included Dr A P J Abdul Kalam, former President of India, Sir John Rose, CEO of Rolls-Royce, Princess Astrid of Belgium, and  Anousheh Ansari, the first female private space explorer.

On the last day of the conference, HE Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan, Chancellor the Higher Colleges of Technology, presented awards to the best student paper presenters across the different themes of the conference.

Irina Pleva, a Latvian student studying at the University of Jyvaskyla, Finland won the Tobisha Award for the most outstanding paper. In addition to her award, she received a Toshiba computer and an internship at the Toshiba laboratories in Oxford, UK.

Irina’s paper investigated the burden that industry puts onto the environment, and proposed solutions that create eco-industrial networks by establishing correlation between nature’s ecosystems and man-made industrial networks.

Other winners were:

  • • Ayesha Al Ateeqi (Higher Colleges of Technology, UAE) – The Lehigh University – Iacocca  Institute Global Village special award for best paper by a UAE national student for her paper, We have come a long way: Redefining Education and its global challenges in the United Arab Emirates.
  • • Sky Taylor Woodlands (University of Queensland, Australia) – Nikai award for the best Multi-media presentation for his presentation The Culture of Consumption: Where do you stand on your Ecological Footprint?
  • • Kalpana Tyagi (National University of Singapore) – Lehigh University – Iacocca Institute Global Village award for her paper M&As in India and China.
  • • Lauren Carr (Queensland University of Technology, Australia) – Sorouh award for her paper Community Saadaqa: Cultural Understanding Through a Shared Sense of Space.
  • • Joyce Meng (Oxford University, UK) – Abu Dhabi Police award for her paper Internet Microphilanthropy for Education: Case Study on Givology.
  • • Lim Shu Xian Eunice (Management University, Singapore) – Ali & Sons award for her paper Water Crisis: A Nation’s Challenge, A Global Concern, A Regional Solution.
  • • Aki Nakanishi (University of South Florida, USA) – Al Faraa’ award for her paper Facilitating Youth Participatory Action Research: Reflections, Strategies and Applications.
  • • Ratish Raghavan (University of Waterloo, Canada) – Al Masaood award for his paper Alternative Energy: Challenges and Possibilities.

The HCT thanks awards sponsors Toshiba, Nikai, Hewlett-Packard, Lehigh University – Iacocca Institute, Sorouh, Abu Dhabi Police, Ali & Sons, Al Faraa’ and Al Masaood.